solidiorew.blogg.se

Resharper 8 vs resharper 9
Resharper 8 vs resharper 9












  1. #RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 UPDATE#
  2. #RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 SOFTWARE#
  3. #RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 CODE#
  4. #RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 LICENSE#
  5. #RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 FREE#

You just make your coding experience more pleasing. So, at $2 an hour, you lose absolutely nothing. From year three onwards, you pay $77 a year. Again, I’m averaging the first three years. And that’s the price you pay for ReSharper. What is your hourly rate in USD? If you make $2 an hour, saving 50 hours of your time per year will be equal to $100.

#RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 LICENSE#

What if you’re a freelancer and you have to pay for a license yourself? Let’s do the math and see if it makes sense for you to buy a ReSharper license. So, I explained that as a minimum, ReSharper saves an average developer 50 hours a year. If your employer doesn’t understand this, perhaps you’re working at the wrong company. Your employer should understand that by providing you with the right tools, they can save your time (which is what they’re paying for), and that you can deliver more and better work in less time. (That’s the average license fee per developer for “companies”, not individuals.)

#RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 SOFTWARE#

And in my opinion, even the smallest software development company should be able to afford $200 per developer per year. I’m guessing developers, who argue that ReSharper is expensive, are freelancers, because often with employees, it’s up to their employer to pay for such tools. Two years ago, Visual Studio didn’t do this, and I’m not sure if it can now! Do you make more than $2 an hour?

#RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 UPDATE#

If I rename an action, ReSharper will automatically update its references in views. ReSharper has been saving me from this particular issue for the past two to three years. What if you didn’t test that part of your application and you don’t have any automated tests covering it? Do you know how much these simple things cost you? Your application is broken and you won’t know unless you run the application and specifically get to that page to find out.

resharper 8 vs resharper 9

Want an example? In an ASP.NET MVC project, you rename an action but forget to rename the reference in the view. Some of the refactoring features that ReSharper provides save you hours and hours of frustration.

resharper 8 vs resharper 9

Again, I’m talking about the absolute minimum. 10 minutes a day of your time, is roughly 1 hour a week, and nearly 50 hours a year. What if I told you that ReSharper could save you 10 minutes a day? And that’s a minimum. If you happen to be one of them, I have a question for you: Do you value your own time? Many developers argue that this price is too much and that they can’t afford it.

#RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 FREE#

But if you’re a student or work on open-source projects you can get a free license. So, how much is ReSharper? A commercial license is $129 for the first year, $103 for the second year, and $77 for the third year onwards. Since the day I started using this plug-in, I never looked back and the more I learned to use it, the more pleasing my coding experience became. I’m just one of their many happy customers. How much does ReSharper cost?įirst, I’m not a ReSharper affiliate, neither do I work for JetBrains, the company that develops ReSharper. And even then, most of Microsoft’s focus is on adding more application templates (macro-level) rather than coding and refactoring features (micro-level). A new version of ReSharper is released every few months, whilst Visual Studio gets updated once every 2 – 3 years. Visual Studio is way behind what ReSharper provides and this distance gets more over time.

resharper 8 vs resharper 9

These are the features that IntelliJ IDEA (used by Java developers) have had for a long, long time.

#RESHARPER 8 VS RESHARPER 9 CODE#

Visual Studio, despite being around for more than a decade and having support for building all kinds of applications, still misses on some basic code navigation and editing features. Just in case you don’t know what ReSharper is, it’s a plug-in for Visual Studio that adds many awesome code navigation and editing features that I wish we had in Visual Studio. You don’t have to agree with me, but I want you to spend only 5 minutes reading this short post and another 1 minute thinking about it. But in this post, I’m going to express my point of view regarding ReSharper. Some of the students in my Clean Coding course have criticised me for relying too much on ReSharper. I welcome this criticism and in my new recordings, I show the non-ReSharper way in parallel. November 22nd, 2015 Comments What is ReSharper and is it worth the money?














Resharper 8 vs resharper 9